Adding options

Adding options

Access: Menu Administrators


Options let you offer families a list of add-ons for an item — they can select one, many or none at all. Options can be free or carry an additional cost. For guidance on when to use options versus choices, see Choices vs Options.

  • Example 1: you are running a sausage sizzle and would like to charge extra for onions and cheese.
  • Example 2: you are selling a sandwich with 2 salad options included in the price, and the rest of the options at a cost of $1 each.

How to add options

1. In the Item editor, select category the item is in.

2. Select the category the item is in, the items will pop up on the right hand pane on your screen.

3. Select the edit icon next to the item you want to update (or create a new item). 

4. Scroll to the Options section 




5. Tick Has priced options if you plan to charge extra for any additional options.  If you tick this field, you will need to enter
  • how many options are included in the base price (from 0 to any)
  • how much each additional option will cost (from $0 to any).

6. Select + and type your first option in the Add field. There are no limits to the number of options you can add.

NOTE: you can not leave a blank option. If you add a line you don't need, click the rubbish bin icon to the right to delete it.

NOTE: the defaults are set to 0. If you do not add a price to this field, customers can add all options to their cart for no additional price.

Example 1 - no options included in base price

Example 2 - 2 options included in base price

A sandwich with spinach, carrot & cheese will cost an extra $3, as the user has selected 3 options.

A sandwich with spinach, carrot & cheese will cost an extra $1, as two of the three options are included in the original base price.



AlertTicking one of the options will include the option by default. We do NOT recommend this option in most cases. In the example below, every sandwich will come with spinach unless the customer UNTICKS the option. This can cause confusion as suppliers will only be alerted (via labels) if a customer removes the option (otherwise it is assumed to be included).


8. Reorder options by grabbing the = handle to the left of each option and dragging up or down.

9. Select Save Draft or Save & Publish.